LEED Certification in a Nutshell

The four levels of LEED certification
When creating a green warehouse or distribution facility, LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification is often considered the goal to strive for in one’s efforts to lessen the impact a facility has on our planet and its resources.  While implementing green initiatives can definitely have a positive impact on your bottom line, LEED points and certification can also translate into state and federal tax credits and higher property value, in addition to creating positive public relations.

In the category of  New Construction and Commercial Interiors,  The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)  offers LEED certification for the renovation of  existing buildings over two years old as well as for new construction.
Four levels of LEED certification can be achieved via a point system based on five key aspects of building design and construction. The four levels of certification are:

  • Certified 40-49 points
  • Silver 50-59 points
  • Gold 60-79 points
  • Platinum–80 points and above

The five categories in which LEED points are awarded are:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality

LEED projects can also receive regional extra credits which acknowledge the importance of local conditions in determining environmental design and construction practices. Projects can be awarded up to four of these regional bonus points.

Learning more about LEED certification is just a click away.  Go to the U.S. Green Building Council website for everything you need to get started, including certification tools, education courses and resources.

Green buildings use less energy, less water and fewer resources. They also have less of an impact on the environment and are healthier places for their occupants. And, with education and proper planning, the ROI can be high.

Visit our website to learn about Next Level material handling products.